NAACP Forum and Our House Time Change

Dear Redlands Faculty, Staff and Students, 

We write today with information about two significant events happening tomorrow, Thursday, October 6: A new and important Redlands Forum featuring national NAACP leadership, and a resulting time change for Our House, a recognition of faculty and staff work at the University of Redlands, which will now begin at 4:00 p.m. (instead of 4:30 p.m.). 

The Redlands Forum topic is Mapping the Movement:  Seeing Our Community from Voting Rights to Environmental Climate Justice.   

When: Thursday, October 6, 5:30 – 6:30 p.m. 
Where: Esri Auditorium, 380 New York St. or streamed live in Orton Center beginning at 5:30 p.m.
Cost: Free, but you must register in advance

Panelists/Speakers will include:

Derrick Johnson, President and CEO, NAACP  
Yumeka Rushing, Chief Strategy Officer, NAACP 
Jamal Watkins, Senior VP of Strategy and Advancement, NAACP 
Clinton Johnson, Racial Equity and Solutions Lead, Esri 

From Southern California, to Washington, D.C., and every place between, NAACP and Esri have been working with government, business, organizations, and community members to help others better understand the world around them. From social impact, climate, the economy and elections, our organizations have answered the critical call to bring understanding and relevant context to empower impactful decision-making and positive change. Join us as we discuss the "Mapping the Movement" vision to leverage GIS in the advancement of racial justice.  

To ensure that our faculty, staff, and students can participate in this important discussion, we have changed the time of Our House. Our House will start at 4:00 p.m. rather than 4:30 p.m.  All are warmly welcome! 

When:  Thursday, October 6, 4:00 p.m. 
Where:  Orton Center 
Cost:  Free 

In 2013, the University of Redlands began a tradition of formally recognizing the research and creative endeavors of faculty and staff by distributing Our House, a compilation of their recent accomplishments, as well as an accompanying celebration. 

This year, the program will begin with featured faculty members Michael Ferracane, Jose Lalas, Maria Munoz, Avijit Sarkar and Jennifer Tilton presenting briefly about their research. Then, we’ll transition to an in-the-round public share and conversation with featured presenters and additional guests Larry Gross, Tom Horan, Catherine Salmon, David Soulsby, and Renee Van Vechten. 

We hope you will join us in attending both of these important events tomorrow.


Krista Newkirk signature

Krista L. Newkirk



Adrienne McCormick