Shared Governance Initiative Update - Survey Results

Dear University Community:

The Shared Governance Task Force has reviewed the responses to the October 2023 survey. Thank you to all who participated. The executive summary, detailed report, and data are now available on our shared governance initiative SharePoint site.

We encourage you to examine these materials. Your feedback is welcomed and essential in guiding our action steps.

Key Observations and Next Steps
Your responses highlight two important aspects of this work. First, your candid feedback is invaluable in highlighting areas for improvement. Second, our work must be action-oriented, with the goal of evolving our shared governance.

Now, we invite you to engage further:

  1. Review the survey findings.
  2. Discuss potential actions that can strengthen our shared governance practices and policies.
  3. Share your reactions with Task Force members in person or via campus email (names included below).

The Task Force is developing a shared governance statement and a decision matrix. These documents will soon be open for your feedback.

Looking Forward
Stay tuned for more updates and the forthcoming drafts. Your continued participation is integral to refining these crucial governance documents. Please share your reactions and feedback with a Task Force member or confidentially with our facilitator, Dr. Danny Anderson, at

Your involvement is crucial to fostering an environment of trust, transparency, and effective communication. Together, we’re shaping shared governance and strengthening our entire University community.


Krista L. Newkirk

Anne L. Cavender
Associate Provost for Faculty & Academic Innovation


University of Redlands Shared Governance Task Force

Krista L. Newkirk, President, Shared Governance Task Committee Chair

Anne L. Cavender, Associate Provost for Faculty & Academic Innovation, Co-Chair

Trisha Aurelio, ’90, Tech Services Supervisor/Special Collections Coordinator, Armacost Library

Aman Bhatnagar ’24, School of Business & Society

Mikela Bjork, Associate Professor, School of Education

Larry Burgess ’67, Trustee

Lisa Cano Burkhead ’93, Trustee

Anu Diekmann, ’19, ’23, Director, Corporate & Foundation Relations

Khouri Evans-Dangerfield ’27, College of Arts & Sciences

Javier Garcia ’02, Trustee

Rev. Laurie Garrett-Cobbina, Dean, San Francisco Theological Seminary

Aaron Holley, ’05, ’09, Head Coach, Men’s Baseball

Makaley Montano ‘24, College of Arts & Sciences

Catherine Salmon, Professor, College of Arts & Sciences

Samantha Sterba, Assistant Professor, College of Arts & Sciences

Facilitator to Shared Governance Task Force

Danny Anderson, President Emeritus of Trinity University