The Giver

January 23, 2014

Adapted for the stage by Eric Coble from the book by Lois Lowry
Directed by Sally Norton
A co-production of the Theatre Arts Department and the Charlotte Huck Children's Literature Festival at the University of Redlands

January 23 and 24 at 8 p.m.
January 25 at 3 p.m. and 8 p.m.
January 26 at 2 p.m.

In the Frederick Loewe Theatre

The Giver by Eric Coble, a dramatization of Lois Lowry's book of the same name, published 20 years ago and read by countless children and many of their parents and grandparents. Performances in the Loewe Theatre will run from January 23 to 26, during the Charlotte Huck Children's Literature Festival being held on campus concurrently, at which Lowry will be a guest.

We meet Jonas and his family before the community's ceremony giving out life's work assignments for children turning twelve. When Jonas's assignment to be the new Receiver of Memory is given, he faces startling and shocking facts and ideas about the past, and learns much that surprises and frightens him. Gradually we learn the nature of this world of "sameness" where many experiences common to us in our world are unknown by members of this community-except for the Giver himself and his new apprentice, Jonas.

The play was originally commissioned by Oregon Children's Theatre in March 2006 from Lowry's book, a Newberry Award winner. The Pegasus News, Dallas, called the play "a grand morality tale with a magical quality." The University production will feature several sound, lighting, and scenic elements to enhance the feelings and events in Jonas's experiences. Student actors portray all of the roles.

Director Sally Norton
Scenic Designer Lindsey Amina
Costume Designer  Monique Thompson
Sound Designer Chad Ohlheiser
Lighting Designer Trevor Norton
Stage Manager Willie Michiels


The Cast: (In order of appearance)

Announcer Anna Yabloch
Father  Trevor Mossolle
Lily Lily Marlene
Mother Alyssa Good
Jonas Isaak Berliner
Announcer Hannah DeWitt
Asher Esat Rexhepi
Fiona Ally Weber
Chief Elder Mariya Spungina

Perrin Albert
Alex Bueerman
Hannah DeWitt
Joanna Mikosz
Anna Yabloch

The Giver

Aaron Stevenson


Joanna Mikosz