Awards & Recognition

Since the beginning of the Office of Community Service Learning in 1991, the University of Redlands has embedded service into the student experience. More recently, these endeavors were recognized nationally.

Carnegie Foundation

The University of Redlands has been repeatedly named as an institution "with distinction" for outstanding programs in disaster relief and service to children, also being named one of the first 64 institutions in the country to receive the Carnegie classification for both service learning and community partnerships; a designation that holds until 2025.

The Presidents Award for National Service Excellence

The Corporation for National and Community Service (CNCS) created the Honor Roll in 2006 to identify, collect, and recognize the outstanding service taking place at higher education institutions across the nation. The Office of CSL was recognized with distinction every year since it began as well as receiving the White House Award for best college program in the country serving children.

Tree Campus USA Designation

Tree Campus USA program recognizes college and university campuses that effectively manage their campus trees, develop connectivity with the community beyond campus borders to foster healthy, urban forests, and strive to engage their student population utilizing service learning opportunities centered on campus, and community, forestry efforts. The University of Redlands has been recognized since 2009, one of the longest-running campuses on the west coast to receive this honor. 

Frank J. Rice Memorial Service Award

Honoring the late Frank J. Rice, University of Redlands alumnus and founder of the Los Angeles Men's place (LAMP), a shelter housing mentally ill men and women on Skid Row in downtown Los Angeles, this award has been presented for the past 13 years. The recipients are University employees who best exemplify the vision of Mr. Rice by embracing the spirit of giving throughout the year. Past recipients have been:

  • 2021 - Pamela Allen
  • 2019 - Julie Byers and Sue Soboti
  • 2018 - Peter Tupou
  • 2017 - Sue Totzke
  • 2016 - Dr. Mara Winick 
  • 2015 - Shelli Stockton
  • 2014 - Dr. Carol Franklin
  • 2013 - Jack Osborn
  • 2012 - Catherine Walker
  • 2011 - Eugene Jackson
  • 2010 - Dr. Kathie Jenni and Dr. Lawry Finsen
  • 2009 - Dr. Chris Walker
  • 2008 - Les Canterbury
  • 2007 - Dr. James Appleton and Nadean Davidson
  • 2006 - Jeff and Susan Martinez
  • 2005 -  Ray Watts and Tom Whittemore
  • 2004 - Judith Brandt
  • 2003 - Bob Denham and Richard Inman
  • 2002 - Pat Kohlmeier
  • 2001 - Char Burgess and Jose Castino
  • 2000 - Trisha Aurelio
  • 1999 - Mike Maynard
  • 1998 - Robin and Sonja Hyde
  • 1997 - Suzanne Mathis
  • 1996 - Margaret Mattich
  • 1995 - Eric Shugg