Awards & Recognition

Since the beginning of the Office of Community Service Learning in 1991, the University of Redlands has embedded service into the student experience. More recently, these endeavors were recognized nationally.

Carnegie Foundation

The University of Redlands has been repeatedly named as an institution "with distinction" for outstanding programs in disaster relief and service to children, also being named one of the first 64 institutions in the country to receive the Carnegie classification for both service learning and community partnerships.

Presidential Award

The Corporation for National and Community Service (CNCS) created the Honor Roll in 2006 to identify, collect, and recognize the outstanding service taking place at higher education institutions across the nation. The Office of CSL has been recognized with distinction every year since it began.

Frank J. Rice Memorial Service Award

Honoring the late Frank J. Rice, University of Redlands alumnus and founder of the Los Angeles Men's place (LAMP), a shelter housing mentally ill men and women on Skid Row in downtown Los Angeles, this award has been presented for the past 13 years. The recipients are University employees who best exemplify the vision of Mr. Rice by embracing the spirit of giving throughout the year. Past recipients have been:

  • 2017 - Sue Totzke
  • 2016 - Dr. Mara Winick 
  • 2015 - Shelli Stockton
  • 2014 - Dr. Carol Franklin
  • 2013 - Jack Osborn
  • 2012 - Catherine Walker
  • 2011 - Eugene Jackson
  • 2010 - Dr. Kathie Jenni and Dr. Lawry Finsen
  • 2009 - Dr. Chris Walker
  • 2008 - Les Canterbury
  • 2007 - Dr. James Appleton and Nadean Davidson
  • 2006 - Jeff and Susan Martinez