Bulldog Bites

News and Views from the University of Redlands

Kudos corner

As we start the new year, we celebrate a number of University of Redlands community members who recently received honors, as well as accolades for the University as a whole. (Photo by Greg Schneider)

As we start the new year, we celebrate a number of University of Redlands community members who recently received honors, as well as accolades for the University as a whole.

University of Redlands

Washington Monthly recognized University of Redlands as in the top 5% of master’s universities, based on contributions to the public good, including social mobility, research, and service.

U of R faculty, staff, and administrators

Professor of Psychology Fred Rabinowitz received the 2020 Practitioner of the Year award from the Society for the Psychological Study of Men and Masculinities of the American Psychological Association (APA). The award recognized his many contributions to the clinical practice of working with boys and men and his latest book Deepening group psychotherapy with men: Stories and Insights for the Journey (2019). Rabinowitz has been invited to be honored in person at an Awards Ceremony at the next live American Psychological Association convention. 

Bulldog Athletics staff members Sarah Beene and Nick Harvey both received Lifesaver Awards from the California and National Athletic Trainers’ Associations for separate actions taken while working on campus. (See also Bulldog Blog article “Preparing to save lives”)

Paul Gaffney '04, program manager of education, community relations, and spiritual care services of the U of R Shaw Chaplaincy Institute, became an official Association for Clinical Pastoral Education (ACPE) Certified Educator. He is the first person to complete the Certified Educator training process through the Shaw Chaplaincy Institute’s Clinical Pastoral Education program.

The Office of Career and Professional Development (OCPD), in partnership with the College of Arts and Sciences Dean’s Office, recognized the 2020-21 Career Faculty Fellows, who were nominated by U of R students for helping them open doors to career paths, graduate schools, and other professional opportunities. Below you will find the list of Career Faculty Fellows along with a brief description of the projects they are focusing on this year.

  • Professor of Psychology Celine Ko, development of faculty resources to initiate career conversations as advisors.  
  • Professor of Theatre Arts Victoria Lewis, development of a devoted webpage inventory of internships available through various departments.  
  • Professor of Chemistry Rebecca Lyons, development of a faculty resource page on the OCPD website. 
  • Professor of Music David Scott, development of alumni contacts and quotes for the new Career Communities section on the OCPD website. 
  • Professor of Race and Ethnic Studies Jennifer Tilton, development of a consistent syllabus for credit bearing internships.  
  • Professor of Biology Ben Aronson, continuing his efforts in carrying out program initiatives this year as the 2020-21 Senior Career Faculty Fellow.  


Bulldogs Vote, a student-run voter advocacy group, was recognized for collecting the most registrations of voters at an on-campus voting location at an independent college or university in the College Ballot Bowl. The Ballot Bowl was developed by the California Students Vote Project, a project of the California Secretary of State in partnership with then-California Lieutenant Governor Gavin Newsom and a coalition of nonprofit organizations. (See also Bulldog Blog article on Bulldogs Vote, “Students mobilize to increase voter awareness and engagement.”)

School of Education Master of Art in Learning and Teaching (MALT) student Jodelle Wong was selected as a finalist for the 2020 Teachers Test Prep “Pass the Torch” Teacher Scholarship.

The Proudian Interdisciplinary Honors Program, founded in 1977, brings intellectually ambitious and curious students together for a challenging, rewarding, interdisciplinary educational experience. The following students were named members of the class of 2023 cohort:

  • Emma Beaver, Environmental Studies/Health, Medicine, Society/ Race and Ethnic Studies
  • Cole Brett, Biology/Music
  • Savannah Butak, English/Media and Visual Culture Studies
  • September Dancel, English
  • Leslie L. Estrada, Political Science/Public Policy/Race and Ethnic Studies
  • Melina Estrada, Asian Studies/Global Business
  • Jennifer Hitchcock, Art/Communication Sciences and Disorders
  • Miela Hurst, Health, Medicine, Society/Biology
  • Cameron Kelly, History/Political Science
  • Delaney Lust, English/Theatre Arts
  • Sophia Manzo-Plancarte, Political Science/Sociology/Business Administration
  • Ryuko Novak-Murano, Public Policy/Spatial Studies
  • Quynh Nguyen, Economics/International Relations/Spatial Studies
  • Cate Pal-Freeman, Creative Writing/Political Science
  • Erin Robles, Asian Studies/History
  • Brandley Simms, English/History
  • Devon Smith, Accounting/Business Administration

If you or one of your colleagues has been recognized with an honor that we can include in the next Kudos Corner, let us know at bulldogblog@redlands.edu.

Learn more about the University of Redlands.