Bulldog Bites

News and Views from the University of Redlands

James Krueger named Professor of the Year

Student testimonials call Philosophy Professor James Krueger a “light on campus” and a valued advisor and professor who helps students find their places in the health world. (Photo by Carrie Rosema)

The University of Redlands Mortar Board Honor Society has named James Krueger as Professor of the Year. Krueger, a philosophy professor and director of the health, medicine, and society program in the College of Arts and Sciences, has been teaching at the University of Redlands since 2004.

“It is really humbling to be nominated with such exceptional teachers and to be recognized by students for the work that we all do. We all know how challenging the last two years have been. I am grateful for the dedication of Redlands students who continued to show up, to work hard, and to find ways to excel despite those challenges,” Krueger said. 

The Professor of the Year distinction recognizes faculty members’ outstanding teaching abilities and important contributions to the University community. This year’s finalists included Susan Goldstein (psychology), Sawa Kurotani (anthropology), Keith Osajima (race and ethnic studies), and Shellie Zias-Roe (environmental studies).

“[The Mortar Board Professor of the Year event] honors our faculty for their excellence in the classroom. That responsibility is most central to what we do here at the University of Redlands. I like the purity and clarity of this—we honor effective, dedicated, wonderful teachers at this University,” said Steve Wuhs, interim dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.

Students, faculty, and staff members were able to gather in person for the annual event to celebrate Krueger and the other nominees for the first time since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic. Candace Glendening, the 2021 recipient of the award, was also honored.

Students, faculty, and staff members gather to celebrate Krueger and 2021 winner Candace Glendening (right) for the first in-person Professor of the Year ceremony since the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic. (Photo by Carrie Rosema)

Introducing Krueger, Natalie Keegan ’22 said, “James never fails to inspire his students. He is passionate in the discipline of philosophy and creates a positive class environment full of thoughtful discussion. Students find that he motivates them to pursue their dreams, and he is always there to help them along their academic journeys.”

A graduate of Whittier College (B.A., philosophy) and the University of Notre Dame (M.A., Ph.D., philosophy), Krueger teaches courses in the philosophy of medicine, medical ethics, science, and biology, including Bioethics: Doctors and Patients and Health and Medicine in Southern Africa. In 2017, Krueger was awarded a Hall Policy Network Scholarly Seed Grant to support the Southern Africa Corridor, a faculty-led effort to expand University relationships from Eswatini to Johannesburg.

Outside the University, Krueger’s affiliations include the American Philosophical Association, the Philosophy of Science Association, and the International Society for History, Philosophy, and Social Studies of Biology.

Student testimonials called Krueger a “light on campus” and a valued advisor and professor who helps students find their places in the health world.

Mortar Board undergraduates began the Professor of the Year awards 64 years ago to honor distinguished faculty members who embody the group’s scholarship, leadership, and service ideas. While the Mortar Board Honor Society facilitates the voting process, any student can nominate a professor for the award. 

Mortar Board began at the University of Redlands in 1943 as a women’s senior honorary group, known as WEBS (Wisdom, Excellence, Belief, and Service). In 1955, it became recognized as an official chapter of the Mortar Board National Senior Honor Society, and, in 1975, membership was opened to both men and women.

Learn more about health, medicine, and society or other programs at the University of Redlands.