Bulldog Bites

News and Views from the University of Redlands

Kudos Corner

The Redlands hedge in front of the Administration Building.

University of Redlands’ programs, faculty, and mascot recently received honors.


University of Redlands’s undergraduate elementary teacher preparation program was named among the top in the country for maintaining selective academic admissions requirements by the National Council on Teacher Quality, a nonpartisan, not-for-profit research and policy organization. The program is among only 28% of the 1,276 evaluated across the country and among only eight programs in California to earn the highest distinction for selective admissions requirements.

According to Department of Education data, U of R’s 2018 “cohort default rate” on certain federal student loans was 1.6 percent—indicating that U of R alumni are much more likely to meet their student loan obligations than most groups. The average 2017 cohort default rate at institutions nationwide was 9.7 percent.

Teaching Degree Search named U of R’s School of Education in the top 10 best-value teacher education grade-specific master's degree schools in the far Western United States.


Professor of Spanish and Latin American Literature Ivonne Gordon-Vailakis was one of two poets recently invited to attend the International Poetry Festival sponsored by Fundación Vicente Huidobro in Chile.

School of Education Professor Nicol Howard has been inducted into the National Science Foundation Quantitative, Computational, and Mixed Methods Cohort. Howard is now one of the 80 Scholars and 40 fellows in the organization who share a common mission to utilize critical data and science methodologies to reshape and transform the scholarship and research within higher education. Howard was also named associate dean of the School of Education.

A book by William Dolphin, a lecturer in the College of Arts and Sciences, titled The Medicalization of Marijuana: Legitimacy, Stigma, and the Patient Experience (Routledge, 2019) was awarded the American Sociological Association's prize for the best book of medical sociology in the past two years.

Professor of Chemistry David Soulsby co-edited the fourth volume of American Chemical Society’s Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) Spectroscopy in the Undergraduate Curriculum: In-person and distance learning approaches (Oxford University Press, 2021). Two chapters in the volume were written by U of R faculty members:

  • “Using the HSQC Experiment to Teach 2D NMR Spectroscopy in Physical Chemistry” by Professor of Chemistry Teresa Longin
  • “Using Internet-Based Approaches to Enhance the Teaching of NMR Spectroscopy across the Undergraduate Curriculum” by Soulsby 

School of Business Professor Jim Spee co-edited Clan and Tribal Perspectives on Social, Economic and Environmental Sustainability: Indigenous Stories From Around the Globe (Emerald Publishing Limited, 2021), a collection that addresses the social, economic, and environmental sustainability of tribes, clans, and Indigenous cultures across national and global origins and demonstrates how sustainable recovery and development occurs in respectful collaboration between equals.

During Commencement season, the University named the following faculty awards:

Outstanding Teaching:

  • Adriana Alvarado
  • Sawa Kurotani

Outstanding Writing Instruction:

  • Nathaniel Cline

Outstanding Innovative Teaching:

  • Heather King

Outstanding Research/Creative Activity:

  • Nicol Howard
  • Jessie Hewitt
  • Neena Gopalan

Outstanding Service:

  • College of Arts and Sciences Working Group 1: (Nathaniel Cline, Hillary Jenkins, Youna Kwak, Paige Mann, Lillian Larsen, Lisa Olson)
  • Conroy Reynolds
  • Joanna Bieri

Global Impact Award

  • Daniel Klooster
  • Kelly Hankin 

The School of Business recognized:

  • Christina Walker and John Ramirez for excellence in teaching
  • Avijit Sarkar for excellence in service
  • Allison Fraiberg for teaching innovation
  • Michael Mac with the Special Appreciation & Recognition Award

Three adjunct professors in the School of Education were given the Adjunct Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award:

  • Professor of Higher Education Melissa Bazanos-Hutton
  • Professor of Counseling Marcina Riley
  • Professor of Learning and Teaching July Hill-Wilkinson

On May 6, nearly 150 faculty, staff, students, and alumni gathered virtually to honor the retirement of 23 faculty members from the University of Redlands. The following faculty members were recognized for their collective years of dedication to their students and their lasting commitment to personalized education at Redlands:

  • Raúl Acero, Studio Art
  • Henry Acquaye, Chemistry
  • Peter Bergevin, School of Business
  • Les Canterbury, Armacost Library
  • Kimberly Cass, School of Business
  • Charng Yi Chen, School of Business
  • Lawry Finsen, Philosophy
  • Rod Goodyear, School of Education
  • Claudia Ingram, English
  • Daniel Kiefer, English
  • Victoria Lewis, Theatre Arts
  • James Malcolm, Biology
  • Mike Maynard, Athletics
  • Phil Mirci, School of Education
  • Barbara Murray, The John Stauffer Director for the Center for Science & Mathematics (Chemistry)
  • Jack Osborn, Hunsaker Endowed Chair of Management (Global Business)
  • Keith Roberts, Associate Dean of Academics, School of Business
  • Daniele Slusser, French
  • Jim Spickard, Sociology and Anthropology
  • Debra Van Engelen, Chemistry
  • Dan Wacks, Chemistry
  • John Walsh, The Omer E. Robbins Chaplain to the University (Religious Studies)
  • Patricia Wasielewski, Sociology and Anthropology

In March, Addie won the Mascot Madness Championship, hosted by the National Collegiate Athletic Association’s Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference and the Northwest Conference.