Graduate School of Theology 

Interim Dean and Assistant Provost
Christopher Ocker

The Faculty
Jon Berquist
Jana Childers
Wendy Farley
Laurie Garrett-Cobbina
Gregory Love
Marcia McFee
Eugene Eung-Chun Park
Teresa Chavez Sauceda

The Graduate School of Theology is comprised of San Francisco Theological Seminary (SFTS), the Applied Wisdom Institute (AWI), the Shaw Chaplaincy Institute (SCI), and the Center for Innovation in Ministry (CIM).

San Francisco Theological Seminary 
Founded in 1871 and rooted in the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.), SFTS values dialogue and engagement with other religions and faith traditions. Our grounding in the Reformed tradition fosters faith-filled engagement in public life and service to others. Located on the Pacific Rim and inspired by the diverse global expressions of Christian faith, we partner with educational institutions throughout the world to enrich our program and expand our understanding of God’s redemptive work in human history.

Moved by God’s love in Jesus Christ, San Francisco Theological Seminary prepares persons for transformational ministries of justice, peace and healing, which advance the Church’s hopeful, loving engagement with the world.

As an ecumenical Christian graduate school, we offer a rigorous education, focused on critical theological reflection that equips graduates from all walks of life to meet the urgent needs of our times through both time-honored and innovative ministries.

SFTS is a founding member of the Graduate Theological Union, a consortium of Protestant and Catholic theological schools in the San Francisco Bay Area. SFTS students take classes at all the GTU seminaries as well as the GTU’s centers and affiliates for the study of Judaism, Buddhism, Islam and other world religions.