CDI Events

These events are sponsored by Diversity Initiatives, Associated Students of the University of Redlands (ASUR) Convocations and Lectures, Human-Animal Studies (HAST) Lecture Series, Office of Career & Professional Development, and the Johnston Center for Integrative Studies.

Juneteenth Celebration
June 15 and June 17
Learn more

Hispanic Heritage Month
September 15 - October 15
 
Banned Books Week
September 26 - October 2
 
National Coming Out Day Event
October 14

 

Catching Up With CDI

Fall 2022 Schedule: Thursdays at 5 p.m. through December 1

Location: Hunsaker 1st Floor, CDI (optional Zoom: www.redlands.edu/catchingup)

  • September 15 - Andrea Muilenburg, Study Away & the First Generation Ambassador Program
  • September 22 - Andrea Alvarado, Barbara Conboy, James Spee, Martin Hoecker-Martinez, Larry Gross, Belinda Sandoval, and Javier Garcia - Hispanic Serving Institute Update
  • September 29 - Christopher Jones, Antiracist Commission and SDIO Initiative
  • October 6 - Pride Center Interns, Intersectional diversity and Trans affirming structures of acceptance
  • October 13 - First Generation College Students and First Gen Family
  • October 20 - Patrick Whalen, Outdoor Programs
  • October 27 - Multicultural Center interns and RISA, Celebrating Diwali
  • November 3 - Krista Newkirk, Table Talk
  • November 10 - Monique Stennis, Love is at the Root of Resistance
  • November 17 - Native Student Programs, The Real Thanksgiving

Notable Dates 2022-2023

September 2022

National Hispanic Heritage Month
Begins Thursday, September 15, and ends on Saturday, October 15
 
Sept 16 – 17
Arbaʽeen 2022 begins the evening of Friday, September 16, and ends the evening of Saturday, September 17
 
Sept 18 – 24
Banned Books Week
 
Sept 23
Indigenous People's Day
 
Sept 21-29
Mabon / Alban Elfed / Autumnal Equinox (Pagan, Wiccan, Druid)
 
Sept 25 – 27
Rosh Hashanah begins the evening of Sunday, September 25, and ends the evening of Tuesday, September 27

October 2022

Breast Cancer Awareness Month

National Hispanic Heritage Month
Begins Thursday, September 15, and ends on Saturday, October 15

Oct 4 – 5
Yom Kippur begins the evening of Tuesday, October 4, and ends the evening of Wednesday, October 5

Oct 5
Dussehra

Oct 7 – 8
Mawlid begins the evening of Friday, October 7, and ends the evening of Saturday, October 8

Oct 9 – 16
Sukkot Sunset, Sunday, October 9– nightfall, Sunday, October 16

Oct 11
National Coming Out Day

Oct 24
Diwali

Oct 25 – 26
Birth of the Báb begins the evening of Tuesday, October 25, and ends the evening of Wednesday, October 26

Oct 26 – 27
Birth of Bahá'u'lláh begins the evening of Wednesday, October 26, and ends the evening of Thursday, October 27

Oct 31
All Hallows Eve
Samhain
Reformation Day
Halloween

November 2022

Transgender Awareness Month

Nov 1 – 2
Day of the Dead begins Tuesday, November 1, and ends Wednesday, November 2

Nov 1
All Saints' Day

Nov 2
All Souls Day

Nov 8
National First Generation to College Celebration Day
Election Day

Nov 11
Veterans Day

Nov 24
Thanksgiving Day
Guru Tegh Bahadur's Martyrdom Day

December 2022

Dec 8
Bodhi Day

Dec 18 – 26
Hanukkah

Dec 25
Christmas

Dec 31
New Year's Eve

January 2023

Jan 1
New Year's Day

Jan 16
Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Day

February 2023

Feb 14
Valentine's Day

Feb 20
Presidents' Day

Mar 2023

National Disability Awareness Month
Women's History Month

Mar 8
International Women's Day

Mar 17
St. Patrick's Day

May 2023

Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month

May 5
Cinco De Mayo

May 29
Memorial Day

April 2023

Apr 5 – 13
Passover begins in the evening of Wednesday, April 5 and ends the evening of Thursday, April 13

July 2023

Jul 4
Independence Day

June 2023

Pride Month

Jun 18
Juneteenth

August 2023