University-wide Council on Inclusiveness & Community

To:  University Community
From: President Ralph Kuncl
Date:  January 18, 2016

Today I announce the formation of the University-wide Council on Inclusiveness & Community, our new forum for exploration, dialogue, proposals, and change that has grown out of the University’s ongoing work and campus-wide conversations of the last two months.

 As I have said, I am committed to redoubling and sustaining our efforts to date to improve inclusiveness at the University of Redlands.  It is the Council’s job to consider and plan actions to address the items in the student and faculty letters I was sent in November and December 2015, and to communicate outward about its recommendations, initiatives, and progress.  The Council will be held accountable by publication of its agendas and periodic reports. 

On December 4th, I sent out the call for volunteers/nominations.  We ultimately received 182 names for consideration, and thus the Council is larger than we had anticipated it would be – but I am very proud of its depth, breadth, and diversity.  I take the outpouring of interest to be a vote of confidence in our University and an aspiration for our future.

I want to thank the thoughtful and dedicated advisory group that assisted me in reviewing nominations:

  • ASUR President, Jake Funk
  • Redlands Bulldog Editor, Jonathan Garcia
  • URSAA Vice President, Kristin Grammer
  • Faculty Senate Chair, Steve Morics
  • Senior Associate Dean of Student Life, Ruben Robles


And I want to thank leaders of our Faculty and Staff/Administrators Assemblies, Faculty Senate, ASUR, Faculty of Color Caucus, B.L.A.C.C., Asian Student Association, Native American Student Union, Middle Eastern Student Association, and other campus groups who put forth nominees or helped the advisory group in our considerations.

The Council will hold its first meeting on Friday, January 29th.  Council membership will rotate on a calendar-year basis each December.  Here in alphabetical order is the roster of the 2016 University-wide Council on Inclusiveness & Community:

  • Ralph Kuncl, President, Chair and Convener
  • Lauri Grier, Staff to Council
  • Wendell Barner, University Trustee
  • Janee Both-Gragg, Faculty, School of Education
  • Robin Cooper, Administrator, Student Life
  • Sean Dunnington, Student, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Brent Geraty, Administrator, President’s Cabinet
  • Kamala Gollakota, Faculty, School of Business
  • Isabella Griffin, Student, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Larry Gross, Faculty, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Priya Jha, Faculty, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Sheila Lloyd, Faculty, Academic Affairs
  • Dominique Lombardi, Student, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Ruijin Ma, Faculty, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Leela MadhavaRau, Administrator, Campus Diversity & Inclusion
  • Jeff Martinez, Administrator, Athletics
  • Dennis Mclin, Student, School of Education
  • Damara Miller, Student, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Ralph Olivas, Staff, Facilities Management
  • Keith Osajima, Faculty, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Charnese Patterson, Administrator, Facilities Management
  • Nora Pulskamp, Staff, Campus Diversity & Inclusion
  • Elana Rapp, Student, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Julie Rathbun, Faculty, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Conroy Reynolds, Visiting Faculty, School of Education
  • Zack Ritter, Administrator, Campus Diversity & Inclusion
  • Destiny Saleem, Student, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Belinda Sandoval-Zazueta, Administrator, Admissions
  • Avijit Sarkar, Faculty, School of Business
  • Marco Schindelmann, Faculty, School of Music
  • Tim Seiber, Faculty, Johnston Center
  • Ron Troupe, University Trustee
  • Emma Wade, Student, College of Arts & Sciences
  • John Walsh, Administrator and Faculty, College of Arts & Sciences
  • James Warren, Administrator, Student Life
  • Michelle Yeh, Student, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Moshe Zamir, Student, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Redlands Community representative (to be named)