Student Life


Sororities Fall 2011

Students interested in sorority life have a number of options at Redlands.

Redlands sororities include the following:

Alpha Sigma Pi
Nickname: Sigmas
Colors: White and Gold
Year Founded: 1914
Active Members: 47
Current President: Stephanie Gillespie

Sigma's are well known throughout the service community. They can be found working at soup kitchens, visiting the elderly, helping to build houses, and donating items to those in need. Women in Sigma are involved in many facets of campus life including; Residence Life, Peer Education, the Admissions Team, Maroon and Grey, the Theatre Department, Panhellenic Council, GAMMA and Order of Omega.

Alpha Theta Phi
Nickname: Thetas
Colors: Turquoise and Gold
Year Founded: 1911
Active Members: 38
Current President: Emma Haas

Alpha Theta Phi is made up of a group of strong, close-knit and outgoing women who strive to be the best they can be in all aspects of life both on and off campus. For over 100 years, Thetas have prided themselves on being devoted members of the Greek and U of R community. You’ll find them involved in various organizations, clubs and sports teams on campus such as Big Buddies, Delta Sigma Pi, Alpha Phi Omega, soccer, track and more. Thetas do a lot of community service for local organizations and causes, and direct much of their efforts and fundraising support towards their philanthropy, Circle of Sisterhood.

Alpha Xi Omicron
Nickname: Alpha Xi
Colors: Coral, White, and Silver
Year Founded: 1927 (Re-Founded 1998)
Active Members: 57
Current President: Raymi Damo

Active members strive to impact the University of Redlands community as well as the community at large with service activities including collecting coins for victims of natural disasters, Habitat For Humanity, participating in the Relay for Life, babysitting the children of faculty during their meetings, as well as going to a battered women's shelter. Our members are actively involved in Social Affairs, Mock Trial, Theater, Art Club and College Democrats.

Beta Lambda
Nickname: Beta
Colors: Green, Amethyst, and White
Year Founded: 1921 (Re-Founded 1988)
Active Members: 66
Current President: Kathleen Brown

The women of Beta Lambda are extremely involved in social affairs, La Letra (yearbook), KDAWG Radio, Spurs, Yeomen, Maroon and Gray, track, softball, swimming, cross-country, and as community assistants (CAs) and admission hosts. In the community they participate in various service activities including volunteering at Redlands Animal Shelter, Plymouth Village (a senior assisted living and residential care community) and participating and raising money for the Redlands' Annual MS Walk and Child Help.

Delta Kappa Psi 
Nickname: Delta
Colors: Shades of Lavender
Year Founded: 1910
Active Members: 76
Current President: Grace Trilla

Delta includes diverse and unique women who strive for excellence as an individual and a sister. The sorority is made of resident life directors and advisors, admissions hosts, student senators and athletes, among others. Delta women are members of social affairs, Maroon and Gray, Mortar Board, Spurs, Senate, College Republicans, College Democrats, dance company and are responsible for bringing Body Image Awareness Week to campus.

Kappa Pi Zeta
Nickname: Zetas
Colors: Royal Blue, Seafoam Green, and Silver
Year Founded: 1926 (Re-founded 2011)
Active members: 55
Current President:  Cara Taylor
Zeta is a newly re-founded sorority that emphasizes creating awareness and understanding of environmental issues as they relate to the role of each individual. Active members of Zeta seek to unite women through a shared passion and a common goal of creating a sustainable future.  Zeta women are active in a full array of campus and community life including senate, sports, community service, ASUR, admission hosts, student life, TOMS shoes, Delta Sigma Pi, and SEA.

What started as a freshman prank in 1913?
The giant R

The giant "R" seen on the mountain north of the University that is about one-third the size of the Quad.

More »