Professor of the Year Event


The 2013-14 Mortar Board College of Arts and Sciences Professor of the Year will be announced during a wine and cheese reception Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014.

The event will take place at 4:30 p.m. in the Casa Loma Room.

This year’s nominees are Dr. Nicholle Andrews, associate professor with the School of Music; Dr. Ben Aronson, professor of biology; Dr. Scott Randolph, assistant professor of business administration; Dr. Nicholas Shunda, assistant professor of economics; and Dr. Greg Thorson, professor of government.

Each year, the University of Redlands chapter of the Mortar Board National College Senior Honor Society facilitates the Professor of the Year events. Mortar Board collects student nominations for the Professor of the Year, and hosts a wine and cheese reception in honor of the top five nominees. A high table dinner is then held later in the year in honor of the receiving professor.

Past Professors of the Year include:

2012: Art Svenson, Government

2011: Beth Doolittle, Mathematics

2010: Judy Tschann, English

2009: Lorenzo Garbo, Economics

2008: Eric Hill, Physics

2007: Fran Grace, Religious Studies and Meditation

2006: Bill Huntley, Religious Studies

2005: Olga Gonzalez, Spanish

2004: Susan Goldstein, Psychology

2003: Larry Rider, Communicative Disorders

2002: Caryl Forristall, Biology

2001: Kevin O’Neill, Philosophy

Please RSVP for the wine and cheese reception by emailing Amy Wilms your name and number of guests at

Posted: Jan. 17, 2014

Quiet the Mind
meditation room

The University’s Meditation Room opened in 2007 and is one of the first “contemplative classroom” spaces in the country.

Read More »