Innovation & Research

2013 Professor of the Year

Art Svenson named Mortar Board Professor of the Year

REDLANDS, Feb. 11, 2013 - Art Svenson, professor of constitutional law at the University of Redlands was recently named Mortar Board Professor of the Year. This marks the second time that Svenson has won this prestigious award. The first time was in 1992.

Redlands students were asked to nominate their favorite professors in November 2012, with this year’s nominees including Jack Osborn, executive professor of business administration; Heather King Shamp, professor of English; Nicholas Shunda, assistant professor of economics and Greg Thorson, professor of government.

“To be nominated is an honor, but the greatest honor is to be with the other four people nominated,” Svenson said. “My honor is joining them on stage.” Svenson is currently teaching Constitutional Law: Liberty and Authority and an Advance Seminar: Equal Protection. Other awards and honors held by Svenson include:

  • Armacost Award for Faculty Service to Alumni, 2008
  • Centennial Awars, 2007
  • David Boies Endowed Chair, 2004
  • Research Award, 2003
  • Mortar Board Professor of the Year, 1992
  • Outstanding Teaching Award, 1983, 1986, 1997

In a presentation featuring student speakers to introduce the nominees, Svenson was described by senior Jacqueline Yeger as “One of the most intriguing characters at the University of Redlands, he has won before and it is easy to see why.”

As Mortar Board Professor of the year, Svenson will speak in March at the President’s High Table Dinner. Mortar Board is a national honor society, with the University of Redlands Chapter presenting the Professor of the Year Award annually.

Media Contact:
Patty Zurita

Casavant Pipe Organ

The 83-year-old instrument was fully restored in 2003 and features 4,266 pipes.

Read More »