Frederick Loewe Symposium in American Music

Frederick Loewe Symposium in American Music
October 26-30, 2015

Composer in Residence: Libby Larsen
Scholar in Residence: Patrick Warfield

To honor the University’s long tradition of celebrating American Music and Frederick Loewe’s support for the School of Music, we established the Frederick Loewe Medal for American Music in 2011. This award honors a clearly recognized statesman of American music for sustained contributions in composition, scholarship, and/or performance. The medal is presented in conjunction with the Frederick Loewe Symposium on American Music and recipients also participate in a weeklong residency designed to focus on the work of a senior figure in American music. Adding to the specialness unique to Redlands, the medal was created and cast in bronze by our very own professors of Art Raul Acero and Penny McElroy.

Previous recipients of the Loewe Medal include Gunther Schuller (2011), William Bolcom (2012), and Joan Tower (2013).

This year we are honored to award the Loewe Medal to Libby Larsen.

Libby Larsen is one of America’s most performed living composers. She has created a catalogue of over 500 works spanning virtually every genre from intimate vocal and chamber music to massive orchestral works and over twelve operas. Grammy Award winning and widely recorded, including over fifty CDs of her work, she is constantly sought after for commissions and premieres by major artists, ensembles, and orchestras around the world, and has established a permanent place for her works in the concert repertory.

As a vigorous, articulate advocate for the music and musicians of our time, in 1973 Larsen co-founded the Minnesota Composers Forum, now the American Composer’s Forum. A former holder of the Papamarkou Chair at John W. Kluge Center of the Library of Congress, Larsen has also held residencies with the Minnesota Orchestra, the Charlotte Symphony, and the Colorado Symphony. Her career has been recognized with several awards including MIT’s McDermott award, the Peabody Award, and the American Academy’s Arts and Letters Award.

Quiet the Mind
meditation room

The University’s Meditation Room opened in 2007 and is one of the first “contemplative classroom” spaces in the country.

Read More »